Business Network California
Companies:114,335
Products and Services:4,160 (+1)
Articles and publications:1,646
Tenders & Vacancies:506

Understanding Four Types Of DUI Charges
Recently updated

Understanding Four Types Of DUI Charges
11/11/2021
Jackson Bibby is a State of California and San Bernardino County Licensed DUI Education Program.

Driving Under the Influence or DUI refers to a criminal offense where the accused operates a motor vehicle with a blood-alcohol level that is above that stipulated by the law. It may also apply to drivers operating automobiles while under the influence of drugs and intoxicants. Under this charge, however, there are a number of subcategories, with each carrying different penalties.

In this article, we explore a number of DUI charges and what it means to face each charge. 

First Offense DUI

This refers to the charge that first-time DUI offenders face. Under California’s law, offenders can serve jail time of up to six months depending on the circumstances surrounding the offense. This charge can also result in fines of up to 1,000 dollars, loss of one’s license, and having an interlock ignition fitted in the car for a period of time.

Wet Reckless Driving

This is a reduced DUI charge that is officially known as Reckless Driving with Alcohol Involvement. The reduction is usually at the discretion of the DA’s office and people who face this charge get milder penalties. Wet reckless driving has no mandatory jail terms or probation time. License revocation is also not mandatory although the judge may still impose it.

While preferable to a full DUI charge, it is important to remember that a Wet Reckless charge still counts if you are charged with another DUI. What this means is that if you face another DUI, it will count as the second as the Wet Reckless is ‘priorable’.

Second Offense DUI

This charge normally applies when one is found driving under the influence for the second time within a ten-year period. Although it is still a misdemeanor, the charges are stiffer than those for first-timers. Judges can impose jail terms of up to one year and fines of up to 2,000 dollars. One is also likely to undertake DUI classes as part of the penalty. It is important to remember that different counties in the State of California may have additional penalties for second-offense DUI offenders.

Third Offense DUI

While still a misdemeanor, Third Offense DUI offenders face ever-increasing penalties. A third offense DUI is when one is arrested for DUI three times in the span of a decade. This offense has a minimum jail time of 120 days and can be up to one year. Fines also go up to a maximum of 3000 dollars. There is also a high likelihood that the courts will require DUI classes as part of the penalty.

Fourth Offense DUI

If you are charged with a fourth DUI within a period of four years, this is known as a Fourth Offense DUI and is a felony DUI. Penalties here can be severe depending on the circumstances of the offense. The charge may attract a minimum jail time of 180 days and up to 10 years in jail. The court also has the power to revoke the license of the accused for a period of up to four years.

If you would like to take DUI classes, you need to find a licensed DUI school in California. Jackson Bibby Awareness Group is a trusted DUI school that is staffed by licensed experts. We offer group and individual sessions online which gives you superb flexibility and safety.

view all (5)

Other articles and publications:

Jackson Bibby is a State of California and San Bernardino County Licensed DUI Education Program.
11/11/2021
Jackson Bibby is a State of California and San Bernardino County Licensed DUI Education Program.
11/11/2021
Jackson Bibby is a State of California and San Bernardino County Licensed DUI Education Program.
11/11/2021
Jackson Bibby is a State of California and San Bernardino County Licensed DUI Education Program.
11/11/2021

Articles and publications of other companies:

In this article, we share with you the ways in which your life can be affected after a DUI charge.
7/24/2021
In this article, we share with you more about how past DUI offenses can appear during background checks.
7/24/2021
We share more with you about drivers license suspension in California in this article
7/24/2021
Business details
Jackson Bibby is a State of California and San Bernardino County Licensed DUI Education Program.
×